The End, er, I mean… The Beginning Is Near

Can you feel it? It’s happening – to me and seems to everyone I’m talking with lately. We’re clearing away cobwebby concepts, habits, defenses, abuses, misappropriations, faulty thinking, and old programming. Darwinian philosophy is dead, Cartesian duality isn’t serving us anymore, waste management is a misnomer, and the levees holding Top Down patriarchy from washing away are on the verge of collapse.

     I know, I know you probably scream and cry
     That your little world won’t let you go
     But who in your measly little world
     Are you trying to prove that
    You’re made out of gold and, eh, can’t be sold

     So, are you experienced?
     Have you ever been experienced?
     Well, I have

     Let me prove you…

     Trumpets and violins I can hear in distance
     I think they’re calling our names
     Maybe now you can’t hear them, but you will
     If you just take hold of my hand – Jimi Hendrix

Maybe you’re still pretending you can’t hear the distant music, but that’s because it’s being drowned out by puppets and agents of fear – both those in your head that keep the illusion on just the other side of smouldering rage, and those who are stoking that furnace, all while tweeting their exit strategies to 98,000 followers.

Chances are though, fiery anxiety aside, you can feel an emerging future; you and visionaries from Nostradamus to the ancient Mayans, from Charles Reich* to Hendrix to that sandwich board-wearing nutso down in the subway station for the last twenty years, babbling about the coming rapture. From furtive whispers to in-your-face proclamations – it’d be foolish to deny anymore that we are living, truly, through the apocalypse.

The apocalypse – how we quiver at that word. From the Greek, meaning “the lifting of the veil,” it points to revelation during a time of falsehood and misconception, not some Mad Max catastrophe. If we plot humankind’s presence along the timeline of the earth, it’s said we don’t show up until a few seconds before midnight, New Year’s Eve. Zoom in, like a microscope, and just sit and think about the past 100 or so years, a veritable blip. That’s an infinitesimally short time to wreak so much havoc and try to evolve accordingly. Yes, we’ve invented cars, airplanes, telephones, microwave ovens, laptops, remote-controlled you-name-its, as well as eradicated smallpox, raised millions out of poverty, extended lifespan, and figured out that a net can prevent malaria. But, we’ve also witnessed and participated in genocides of people, species and cultures that will never, ever be experienced again. We’ve committed acts of violence to ourselves and each other that you’d think, if I were to frame them as the workings of an alien society, unconscionably atrocious.

We’ve altered the fricking CLIMATE, fercryin’outloud.

When was the last time you saw an earthworm or an eagle? We’re so disconnected from our planet that we need devices to tell us when it’s time to eat, what the air feels like outside, and how to wake up in the morning. We think a “week” is a real measure of time.

We’re so disconnected from ourselves that it’s not until cancer kicks us in our collective ass do we start to think, oh! Maybe there’s something wrong here. And the biggest killer of children, of CHILDREN I say, is that we are starving them to death through obesity, first by our own example and then by supporting the greed-based sources of the so-called ‘food’ we pretend to decry.

Further, we’re so disconnected from each other we barely make eye contact over our smartphones, we deadbolt our families behind gates (& call it a community), and it’s all we can do to piece together broken relationships with complaints / meaningless sex / gossip as our baseline. We’re terrified of answering real questions with honesty and humility.

But there’s good news! Really, really good news, although you won’t read about it in the newspapers or hear it on the radio, because those are part of the institutions that are either crumbling or transitioning. Creative destruction is allowing for magnificent innovation, technological transformation, and radical redesign. The evidence can be seen EVERYWHERE. While the old is getting earthquake’d and tsunami’d, more are being catapulted into a new paradigm. So surrender your erroneous defenses and create the life that’s been calling you – the world needs what only you can provide. The universe is conspiring to bring us unparalleled creativity, beauty, ease, and prosperity. And it wants you in on it. So put on your party pants and grab a partner!

     Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. ~ Steve Jobs

  • Aging – Screw dying when I’m 80. I’m going to live at least another 80 years.
  • Retirement – Bullocks! Why would I want to work like a dog for a paycheck just so that I could knit or play golf when I’m “old?”
  • Cash / Money – It’s the end of fiat currency, the end of worshipping false idols. Imagine getting what you want without the treasury middleman.
  • Jobs – I don’t want one. Do you? Jobs are going the way of the Yugo. And that’s a GOOD thing.
  • Banks – Let them fail. Yes, it’ll hurt. But no more than if we don’t.
  • Stock Market – Really? You’re still in it? How about locavesting…self-investing…community investing…
  • Disease – Heal instantly. Never be sick again. Eliminate this idea of illness as inevitable.
  • Peak Oil / Dwindling Energy Supplies – Mere corporate propaganda. No such thing. Praise the sun and the wind and the deep blue sea.
  • Time Travel – Yup. Done it. And so have you.
  • God / Universe / The Great Pumpkin – Nietzsche said “Dead!” Walt Whitman said “Leaves of Grass.” I side with the humanist.

This is what I’ll be writing about in forthcoming posts. Which is to say that all I learned and thusly railed against all my life were falsehoods and misconceptions: that which didn’t ring true, but were the foundations upon which the masses built their beliefs. So look forward. Let’s start questioning EVERYTHING we think we know is real. Let me push into what you think is not possible, and allow a seed to be planted. Come explore with me – what is something you absolutely believe to be true? Now hand me that sledgehammer.

************************************

I don’t know why we always cry
This we must leave and get undone
We must engage and rearrange
And turn this planet back to one
So tell me why we got to die
And kill each other one by one
We’ve got to hug and rub-a-dub
We’ve got to dance and be in love
(But what I really wanna know is)
Are you gonna go my way? ~ Lenny Kravitz

*There is a revolution coming. It will not be like revolutions of the past. It will originate with the individual and with culture, and it will change the political structure only as its final act. It will not require violence to succeed, and it cannot be successfully resisted by violence This is the revolution of the new generation. ~ Charles Reich, The Greening Of America, 1970.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Very good post – I am very glad I received a copy of it.
    Will have to ponder the many things that you talk about here.
    I am sincere on my compliments.
    Cheers,
    John D. Wilson

    Reply
    • Thanks, John. I’m interested in what your ponderings turn up. I am also sincere in my curiosity 🙂

      Reply
  2. Michael A. Cimino

     /  6 October 2011

    right on, sister! miss you

    Reply
    • Michael,
      You just love me for my Hendrix/Kravitz quotes 🙂
      xo
      ps- but seriously, share with me something you really think is a given…give ME something to wrestle with.

      Reply
  3. destrudowoman

     /  6 October 2011

    Love this post! You’re hitting your stride, girl…at the front of the parade. Well done, well said….well….what are we waiting for? 😉

    Peace, Love & Pomegranates

    Reply
    • Valerie~
      Oh, I’m just getting started! Besides, if I’m living until I’m in my 120’s, there’s a lot more contrarian adventures to come…
      How ’bout we start by taking over the world?
      Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Reply
  4. Jane Powell

     /  6 October 2011

    New paradigm living – very exciting. I believe Thought Creates Reality….so I’m thinking this is going to be a great time to get Clear, in all ways, to make room for a new way of Being. Beauty, Truth. Abundance, Peace, Love, Harmony, Clean (air, water, food, corners, closets…), More Dancing, Joy and Sharing. That’s good for starters. I look here for inspiration, reminders, a kind kick in the ass and outrageous bodaciousness. You never disappoint.

    Reply
    • Jane~
      Love your mental Feng Shui, beautiful lady!
      Yes – more dancing! Nothing gets me jazzed more than the body meeting the music 🙂
      Let’s crank it up and hit the floor…
      xo

      Reply
  5. “God / Universe / The Great Pumpkin – Nietzsche said “Dead!” Walt Whitman said “Leaves of Grass.” I side with the humanist.”

    When I first read this line, I thought you said “I side with the hummus”
    I almost wish you had said it…

    Reply
    • Galen~
      Now THAT would’ve been funny! Irreverence & humor to the rescue…
      BTW, I LOVE your part of the world – one of my favs.

      Reply
  6. The revolution is within each one of us bubbling to the surface. It’s not enough to be AGAINST something we need to be FOR something. Be peace and you will create peace. Your mind is more powerful than your body. viva La Revolucion!

    Reply
  7. Jill~
    So what are you FOR? What’s YOUR revolution?
    xo

    Reply
  8. I know the question was for JAR but I will answer – I am for more play and less game
    Thanks for the post, very nourishing
    CAR

    Reply
    • CAR~
      Missed you here!
      Love that you’ve separated out what is so usually tangled.
      Thanks,
      xo

      Reply
  9. The end is not here, it’s there. Let go of the end and live the now- not the tomorrow, nor the yesterday- it is the here and the now.

    famous philosopher in the movie Head.

    Reply
    • Warren~
      And while we’re in the here & now: Be excellent to each other. From those semi-famous philosophers in the movie Bill & Ted… 😉
      So cool to see you here!
      Thanks!

      Reply
  10. Catapulted into a new paradigm – yes! So much for gradual transformation. Sure, some things continue to mature and ripen at their own pace, but others are just exploding! Great post!

    Reply
    • David~
      Well, I’d say there’s been much gradual adaptation and progress, for those who allowed themselves to be pulled forward, by great vision, by instinct, or by the desire for something more. But for others who are on the verge now, yes, I do believe it’ll be cataclysmic. And for those who’ve got they’re heels dug in deeply, completely resisting the future that’s calling, well…time will tell how they fare.
      Breathing, one breathe at a time 🙂
      Thank you!

      Reply
  11. oh my gosh, i LOVE this post! i don’t even know what to say other than i feel like you’re speaking my very thoughts. RIGHT ON Kellie! Right on!

    Reply
    • There’s few things as fulfilling for me as connecting to with someone through my writing.

      I truly believe that women are the key to shifting our future, so I’m not surprised by our like-mindedness.

      Thanks so much for your enthusiasm!

      Reply
  1. The End, er, I mean… The Beginning Is Near – a guest post from off~peak | The Big Mozey
  2. Reading Is Fundamental And Other 70′s PSA Riffs « off~peak

Add your 2 cents!