Elixir

Snowbound.            

Housebound.

Tired-of-these-four-walls-and-I-don’t-watch-TV-bound.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m loving the whole start a new life, follow my bliss, Bergdorf-to-Bean existence, but really now.  There’s only so much Thoreauian solitude a Brooklyn girl can take.  Where’s the spicy hand-pulled noodles with cumin lamb?  The millenia-old South Pacific sculptures? American Museum of Natural History, SculptureBeth Orton singing at the Bell House?  Oh, what I wouldn’t give to be pushed around by a sweaty hipster drinking overpriced PBR in Gowanus right now.  Hell, I’d even poach a shift at the podium.  (Blasphemy!)

Truth is, I miss people.  I’ve spent more than 5,000 days working in rooms brimming with gourmands, celebrities, friends, tourists, drunks, malcontents, striving artists, movers & shakers…and now all I have keeping me company are pesky squirrels scratching around the chimney and whatever four-legged nocturnal critters left these tracks last night.  It’s a bumpy transition for a social creature to make.  And it’s not even February yet.  What’s a scribe to do?

Animal Tracks in the SnowI knew going into this the whole rural writing life would be in sharp contrast to my life formerly known as a  globetrotting sophisticate… and I know that it was ME that broke up with New York, but criminy!  Zen’s only gonna get me so far; then the rum will have to take over.  And that won’t be pretty.

Phew.  I’m glad I got all that off my chest.

Because this morning, I threw a down vest over my flannel pjs, plunged outside, and was confronted by heavenly paradise ~ and all is right with the world once more.

Winter Sunrise in Maine

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Cara

     /  30 January 2011

    Wow! What a stunningly beautiful picture (the last one). I’d trade contact with most people for a long-term view like that.

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  30 January 2011

      Cara~ Today’s sunrise was jaw-dropping. The picture doesn’t even do it justice. As for YOUR view, not too shabby, Miss house-in-the-woods.

      Reply
  2. Jill Rowe

     /  30 January 2011

    Oh that was a good laugh! Ain’t it true though? You see that amazing light bouncing off trees in the morning, or that heavenly backlit pearl grey sky, and you know that nothing is better than that- not even front row seats to Ani diFranco!

    Reply
  3. Rebecca Robinson

     /  31 January 2011

    I can identify with BOTH of those perspectives! The solitude of being a stay-at-home mom with infants/toddlers was debilitating at times and a step outside accompanied by a deep breath was always the thing to pull me back to gratitude.

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  31 January 2011

      Rebecca~You’ll appreciate this: there was some ‘force’ that pushed me outside that morning, like it knew I needed the sunrise cure. Single digits in my pjs? Wouldn’t have gone out on my own. But, gratitude always has the last word, luckily 🙂 xo

      Reply
  4. Kellie-

    SHHHHHHHHHHHHH! Not so loud. There are a lot of people in Brooklyn, and you probably know most of them. Don’t let the secret of our Paradise-on-Earth out! You know that bridge across the Piscataqua River on the NH/ ME border. We put it there for a reason….so we get all the traffic into 2 lanes and can stop inbound traffic.

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  31 January 2011

      David~ Brooklyn is like Robin Williams: you don’t want to get on stage after him, you’ll never measure up. But I think the midcoast just outdid him, despite all the 2-lane precautions you’ve taken 🙂

      Reply
  5. CAR

     /  31 January 2011

    Right Click
    Set As Background

    Reply
  6. CAR

     /  1 February 2011

    Kellie – Snow melts. Dandelions are forever 🙂

    Reply

Add your 2 cents!

