“Faith Is Taking The First Step Even When You Don’t See The Whole Staircase.” Martin Luther King, Jr.

One of my favorite Christmas presents this year was a God Jar.  What’s a God Jar, you ask?  It’s a modern-day Aladdin’s Lamp, a vessel of dream manifestation, a container imbued with the power to, well… contain ~ all my desires, hopes, fears, and worries.  How does this magic receptacle of divine power work?  Seems I’ve a few more questions to answer…

First, I become clear on exactly what it is I want to do, what I want to become, what I want to have.  I write it down or visualize it.  Sometimes both.  Then, I consider what, if any, fear accompanies the desire, anything I may be worried about.  I consider any obstacles that lay between me and the attainment of my wish.  I name them – the yearning and/or the fear.   Clarity is key, here.  Next, I find some way to represent its essence, some tangible symbol like a photo or token.  Finally, I place the chosen symbol into the jar, and Let. It. Go.  Just like that.  Just like the late night rotisserie infomercial:  Set it and forget it!

What in actuality I’ve done is to hand over the rest of the process to the Universe, the Great Green Goddess, The Big Divine Wow.  This can be the tricky part.  It took a long time, but when it finally sunk into my thick skull that I don’t have to have life all figured out is when life started getting easier for me.  I’ve learned to relax and trust in its flow.  (My massage therapist actually had to ask me once to relax, to let her do the work – Geez!  Could I be more controlling?) Now, I know my role is to turn my attention to what I want, do only what’s in my power, and let go, believing I’m not alone in the endeavor.

This is what I struggled with for years:  thinking I had to do everything on my own.  Self-sufficiency is one thing, and it can be admirable, but emotionally distancing myself far from friends and family, not accepting help from others – it’s not the most efficient course of action and its a damned lonely one, too.  Now I reach out to my loved ones, and – wouldn’t you know it? – there they are, as is some grander, unexplainable force that swoops in and throws me up on her wings.  How else to account for the myriad blessings bestowed upon little ol’ me?

I don’t always know how to get where I want to go, the path is often hidden, but I trust that what’s right will come along and guide me there.   And the things I long for from the bottom of my heart?  I take courageous steps in their direction and put in the appropriate work.

So now, what’s in my jar, you ask?  Well, I baptized it this week with a clipping from the front page of a newspaper in which I’d like to be published.  And on the tangible end, I’m putting together my resume, portfolio, and presentation.  Between the two, I’m wholeheartedly pursuing my dream to make a living doing what I love.  I don’t know where my writing will take me – I can’t see the whole staircase – but I’m climbing, one faithful step at a time.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Nicely said, Kellie.
    I like the God jar.
    Especially when I have big changes about to or taking place in my life I try (real hard) to let go of trying to control the process and Trust that what is supposed to happen will happen. It’s taken me quite a long time to learn what impediments are small enough to climb over and which boulders are road blocks and detours to be followed to correct my course.
    And don’t worry too much about trying to help your massage therapist, sometimes it just takes a little practice of not having to do it all, yourself.
    – Julie, a massage therapist and fellow writer

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  18 January 2011

      Julie ~ Looking back, I see how much time I wasted fretting and avoiding and wrestling with every obstacle. Now, the more I trust the process of life, the more fun it gets! (and massages are a whole lot more relaxing, too 🙂 ) Thanks for commenting and sharing your perspective!

      Reply
  2. “I don’t always know how to get where I want to go, the path is often hidden, but I trust that what’s right will come along and guide me there.”

    Exactly the same for me, too. I am learning more lately to trust, let go and to pray (I do pray, but I don’t know to what). In return, things seem much clearer and I don’t get so lost through out the weeks. I think meaning is important, too. And I am constantly blown away by how I am able to manifest what I truly desire. Sounds like some type of hocus pocus thing, but it’s a serendipitous trip. People may call me crazy. Whatev.

    Reply
  3. I’m reading this post a year after you wrote it (I was looking for the broader context of that MLK quote, and found something else awesome instead) – LOVE your god jar.

    Reply
    • April~
      Isn’t that how life often unfolds? We’re heading in one direction and somehow we discover a whole new view. I must say, even after a year, I’ve had quite a lot of what I’ve put in there materialize, but not always in the way I imagined it would. Twists & turns…
      Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment – hope to see you around here again 🙂

      Reply
  1. Ode to Kenmore | off~peak

Add your 2 cents!

