Don’t Fight A Cold, Embrace It

I felt like Helena Bonham Carter‘s The Red Queen when I awoke this morning – head tripled in size, pale as a mime, yelling “off with their head!”  It would’ve been funny if I didn’t feel so under the weather.  Where did that saying come from anyway? As if there’s a hovering, dark cloud I’m crouching beneath…

Well, it seems that cloud has been ominously harboring an occasional cough, lurking…stalking…waiting for just the right moment… and now it’s invited some rascally friends over:  sneezey, wheezy, runny, and headache-y.  I feel like an Alka-Seltzer commercial, or one of the Seven Dwarves.

So what, you say?  It’s December.  But I’m not one of those who, when this time of year rolls around says “I always get sick when this time of year rolls around.”   In fact, I don’t get sick anymore, at least not in that bronchial infection-sore throat-winter blues kind of way.  Rather, since I purged the bad habits of my life, like smoking, drinking to excess, dating emotional vampires, and working 65 hours a week, I’ve been respiratorily fit.  I could make out with a phlegm-friendly, Keflex-popping, walking pneumonia patient and saunter away sniffle-free.  Luckily, my immune system is currently respecting my lack of health insurance, and for that, I am grateful.  So what’s with my Big Head Todd and the Monsters?

Well, apparently even a downsized life adjusts relative to its environment.  Less affects me more now.  I’m like the princess and the pea and DAMN that pea is a bruiser!  So what’s my strategy?  Don’t fight it, embrace it.  And stop with the fairy tale metaphors.

First thing, I hydrate incessantly – water, tea, cider, and no coffee, thankyouverymuch. There’s cups of Yogi tea and OJ in progress on practically every flat surface and I hope I don’t capsize, I’m sloshing around so much.

Second, I check my trusty Louise Hay mini-tome, Heal Your Body, hands down the most thumbed-through book on my shelf.  (Buy it.  Read it.  You’ll thank me later.)  According to the guru of metaphysical therapy, I’ve got too much going on;  I’m disordered.  Maine to Connecticut to Manhattan to Brooklyn back to Connecticut to upstate New York to Connecticut back to Maine.  What?!?

What I need is a break, both geographically and creatively – it’s not just my engine that’s been thrown full-throttle, but my imagination has been working overtime, too, hence my body’s message to climb back into bed…

and.

just.

stop.

Third, the hug:  a deep appreciation for my body’s wisdom, even though I mostly overlooked it ’til now.  If I didn’t hit the brakes, I’d be like Wile E. Coyote, splat up against the painted boulder.  Who wouldn’t choose a cuddle over a crash and burn?

Now the Rx:  supplements.  Airborne, Vitamin C, zinc… and just because Echinacea hasn’t run the FDA gauntlet successfully doesn’t mean that it doesn’t work.  Put that in your cauldron and stir it.  Can you say, at the very least, P-L-A-C-E-B-O?

Finally, I focus on all those beautiful, healthy parts of me.  Remember how your mom said if you kept making that face, it would stay that way?  She was right.  So I stop making that ugly, can’t-you-see-I-feel-like-crap face and begin marvelling at those new muscles I’m getting from yoga, and how strangely enough, my hair looks shiny and smooth today.

Wouldn’t ya know it?  I feel better already.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Jill

     /  1 December 2010

    Big smile- that way of thinking would slay the toughest cold!

    Feel better

    Xo

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  2 December 2010

      Chin up, right Jill? I guess it’s working – I’m not getting any worse 🙂

      Reply
  2. victoria

     /  2 December 2010

    i love the snow falling on the screen as i read about cuddling up to all the home remedies & willing the cold away…g-d bless louise hay, riiiight? she’s california old school. enjoy the slow down. enjoy the snow? xo v

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  2 December 2010

      I don’t know where I’d be without my Louise Hay, Victoria. Plus, now I have you reading me! I’m cheered up already 😉

      Reply
  3. vlb

     /  2 December 2010

    Along with all the good home remedies, don’t forget the most important: SLEEP. Or at least rest. We Loyal Readers will forgive you for taking a day off blogging — we want you back in fine form!

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  2 December 2010

      You’re so right, vlb! Luckily I’m sleeping well these days – there’s nothing like lingering in my pjs all day, either…now if I just had a pooch to curl up with.

      Reply
  4. Cheryl B.

     /  3 December 2010

    Hey Kellie…

    I love the humor you so effortlessly orchestrate within your writings. It’s as if I can hear your thoughts as they fall into the text that you are so generously sharing with us.

    I have always thought of a cold as a time to tend to our own needs and allow for some TLC directed solely to one’s self. Unfortunately, it seems to be the only time it is socially acceptable to do this.

    So, with that said……give yourself some TLC!!!

    Cheryl

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  6 December 2010

      @ Cheryl ~ You are SO right…why is it that being sick is the only time we’re ‘allowed’ to tend to our needs? Let’s start a revolution! Self-care whenever we need it!! Who’s with me?

      Reply
  5. ldk

     /  7 December 2010

    uh, i’m definitely with you on THAT revolution!! seriously, what would it take to make it socially, professionally acceptable to take time out for yourself when you need it??

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  8 December 2010

      @ldk ~ umm, socially – just do it. everyone else will eventually follow those who are right. professionally? be an entrepreneur! and then, teach our children well.

      Reply
  1. off~peak blog: 2010 in review | off-peak

Add your 2 cents!

