Thank you (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)

Being mobile is proving to be a posting challenge. For most of my adult life I’ve kept a journal while traveling the world, but being away this week I find it tricky to balance new electronic habits with old itinerant patterns.  I’m not complaining however – I know I live a charmed life.  While I catch up with friends in Brooklyn and family in bucolic northwest Connecticut, I’m quite aware of how lucky I am.  I not only live in a beautiful place but also get to pick up and go pretty much whenever I want to.  I’m brimming with gratitude for all that I have.  And I’m not the only one…

I recently came across the blog of Gabriela Munteau, who does publicly what I’ve done privately for the past three years.  Each day she documents 5 things for which she is grateful.  Fodder for her practice comes from attention to gifts that can be so easily overlooked.  Blessings large and small make an appearance in my daily appreciation list, too, and it has transformed my outlook on life.  God is in the details, yes?

As I’m gallivanting around this month, I want to share today’s list of what I’m thankful for:

1)  My best friend.  I can show up anytime and there’ll be a home-cooked meal, a glass of wine, good conversation and a comfortable bed.

2) Kale, and not just any kind, but lacinato (or dinosaur kale) that was already planted and tended in the garden I inherited.  All I have to do is pick, chop, and saute it – with just a bit of extra virgin olive oil.  It’s so tender and flavorful it doesn’t even need salt or pepper. It is easy being green.

3) The New Yorker.  It is my favorite magazine, and not just because I like Susan Orlean, Sasha Frere-Jones, Elizabeth Kolbert and Hendrik Hertzberg.  It’s because the articles are never continued on page 76.  I so appreciate being able to read a story from start to finish, one page to the next.

4)  My dilettante tendencies.  On the drive down to NYC, I was listening to an audiobook of Malcolm Gladwell’s “What the Dog Saw.”  In it he says that the tough part about being an author is overcoming the natural human tendency to be disinterested in things.  My incessant curiosity, then, clears one of those writerly hurdles.  A tenfold appreciation for the never ending “Why?”

5)  Newman O’s.  Go ahead and try a side-by-side taste test with an Oreo.  You’ll never go back.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Cara

     /  9 November 2010

    Appreciating the small acts of kindness. The little things are the gems of life.

    Reply
  2. ldk

     /  9 November 2010

    smiling…for many reasons. welcome back to BK, even if for a short while. we’ve missed you. 🙂

    Reply

Add your 2 cents!

