The other L word

Generally, when Maine knocks at your door, there’s either a lighthouse or a lobster on your stoop.  I’ll take either, but on Columbus Day, Red’s Eats in Wiscasset serves up their last rolls of the year, so Monty, I’ll take what’s behind door number 2.

The line here snakes along the road and can easily last 2 hours in July and August, but I came here off-peak, remember?  This is one reason.  Returning from the Portland Jetport, visiting friend in tow,  I surprise her by letting her know we’d be passing through town, and might she care for some lunch?

“Really?!  I didn’t even get my hopes up,” an eager J replied.  “Figured it was too late in the season.”

“Looks like I’m about to make all your crustacean dreams come true,”  I said.

“Ah!  I’m so excited!”  she said, grinning.  “Can the day get any better than this?” Indeed it can, but that’s another post.

The first of several serendipitous moments during our visit, we were giddy as we queued for less than a half hour.  For those of you who’ve never waited in line at Danny Meyer’s Shake Shack in New York, I must say 30 minutes is a mere blip on the fast food screen.  Not only did we have one of the finest lobster rolls ever, but for me, a new version:  no mayo, no celery.  Just hot melted butter – poured over more than a whole lobster’s worth of claws and tail.  Huge, I’m talking. The fries more than passed muster, too, and the company couldn’t be beat.

I’ll never pay $32 for one of these in New York again.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Cara

     /  24 October 2010

    Those are called CONNECTICUT style lobster rolls. You can’t totally get away, can you?

    Reply
  2. Jill

     /  25 October 2010

    It was the best way to start the trip! Love the title!

    Reply

Add your 2 cents!

