Stapled To The Chicken

Why did the dead baby cross the road?

Because it was stapled to the chicken.

Stay with me here.

photo

My regular yoga practice was going strong this winter, until I put it on hiatus for the past 3 weeks.  I’m still figuring out how to be mobile and maintain a routine; usually something has to give, and this time yoga got sidelined.  Back in Maine after a jaunt south to celebrate my sister’s birthday and get a B-12 shot of Gotham, I barely made it this morning to an early Vinyasa Flow class.  Returning to the mat I felt like a blue square skier on a double black diamond slope – is this what happens when the pause button gets pushed?  Damn!  If Plank and Cobra didn’t make me feel like a traitor, then ‘resting’ in Downward Dog was far from soothing.  In fact, while the blood was rushing to my head and my shoulders were painfully strained in this upside-down vee, I began feeling a HUGE resistance.  Of course, I thought it’s been awhile and I’m out of practice.  But it was more than that – it lodged massive and imposing like a mountain.  I’d never felt so much physical force inside me.  Little did I know I was on the verge of having emergency psychic surgery.

photo

Quickly a vision of the resistance entered my awareness like a camera snapping into focus:  a large ball, perhaps 3 feet in diameter, seemingly composed of milky white cartilage, smooth as a ball-bearing.  Solid.  Firmly half in and half out of my body, from my navel to my philtrum, nestled like an asteroid that just hit earth, I clearly felt this imaginary (?) object emerging from my mouth, my throat, my heart, my gut.  I tilted my head back to give it room.

Immediately the asanas dropped their struggle, or I against them, and I  effortlessly continued on through Pigeon, Tree, and Warrior III, while this otherworldly cartilage protrusion, still as stone, remained as real as the wood floor under my mat.  When I finally came to the supine poses, nearing the end of the session, I lie there wondering… what next?  Then this pearly, foreign sphere rolled up and off my chest, across the floor, into oblivion.  I didn’t feel lighter, there was no crying or any other inclination to release.  The only notable result was that I suddenly wanted a freshly juiced glass of green vegetables.

Back home, after stopping by the local grocery for all things green – kale, kohlrabi, celery, fennel, parsley and cabbage (as well as a bag of Willow Bake Shoppe donuts) – I reflected on the strangeness of my morning.  I wasn’t compelled too much to figure it out, or understand any symbolic representation.  Instead, what most interested me was feeling that I had just witnessed the boundary point of my unconscious and conscious minds.

I had no intimation of this coming nor did I feel afterward that anything paradigm-shifting had really happened – all I wanted was some raw green juice. But somehow I think something had occurred.  I think there’s a whole world down there that I’m completely unaware of, with burrowing voles and tectonic waltzing that sometimes erupts.  It’s just the first time I was keen to it.

Am I transformed?  That remains to be seen.

So what was with the donuts? I sense they were my ‘dead baby:’  that which no longer serves me, but I haven’t relinquished yet.  I’m crossing that road, and little is going to stop me, even if it resorts to absurd stapling tactics.

photo
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Most interesting experience..! Did you mention any of it to your teacher..? I’m curious as to what this represents..

    Reply
  2. Amelie~It was weird, I admit. I haven’t mentioned it yet; after class I was unable to speak to anyone, I was feeling almost high, as if I were in the dentist’s chair with the nitrous gas – kind of removed from reality, but aware enough to function.
    I’m somehow hoping to see that point of entry again into the unknown workings of my mind…

    Reply
  3. Jane Powell

     /  20 March 2011

    Kellie – First of all – Yea! You’re back.
    Second of all – Wow! While some of us may have similar experiences, you really know how to relate them in such way as to make me want to do them again so I can pay attention to feel exactly that way. It’s great to be a writer. (Or an artist, musician, dancer, physicist, mother) Your world is that much richer. Thanks for the window.

    Reply
    • Jane~Thanks, it feels good to be back, both on the page, and midcoast :)
      I’m feeling particularly enriched lately, by my ‘life as an artist date’ and by all the ideas that are bursting forth. Initially I hesitated to write this piece, thinking it was too oddball, but hey – isn’t that what off-peak is all about?! I’m glad to hear it was relatable.

      Reply

Add your 2 cents!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

