Drag Racing In Vacationland

snow covered barn Maine winterSo THIS is Maine in the winter, huh?  I woke up earlier this week to find a few dents and scratches – overnight lows of -30F caused the kitchen pipes to freeze, internet service would be down for a few days, and I’ve (unknowingly) been driving around since November with no car insurance.  After four months of easy living, I was hip-checked by this sudden confluence of inconvenience.  At least I had heat, a stocked pantry, and my Blackberry.  But I’m a bastion of tying up loose ends, so what slipped?

Several years ago, I was driving north at night on the New York State Thruway, a notoriously speedy roadway, where the slow lane goes 75mph.  A friend was with me as we began to notice all the cars around us slow waaaay down, almost to a standstill, but there was nothing ahead to account for this bizarre occurrence.  I jammed my brakes and tried to find equilibrium, both of us worried and confused.  What the hell?  Suddenly, engines growled, tires squealed and several dozen cars sped off, as if at Watkins Glen, leaving me with white knuckles and a rapid pulse, as I tried to keep my car on the road amid the vehicular mayhem.

Later, as I reflected on the spontaneous drag race, a lesson crystallized:  how crucial it is to be ready when life unexpectedly speeds up.  Now, I’ve let up on the gas pedal for quite a while, with quitting my job and the recent move to Maine – a land where two pickups stop and chat across the double yellows – and I’ve developed a meandering pace: all carpe diem and proverbially rose-smelling.  But my insides have stirred lately.  I want more torque, more rev.  How can I ever get up to speed with my controls set at cruise?

What does this have to do with frozen pipes, you ask?  According to the Chinese system of energy alignment known as Feng Shui, when there’s a water leak in your house, there is a corresponding leak of money in your life.  I have experienced this, and believe it to be true.  I wonder then, if ice in the water lines is a sign of constipated financial flow?  And the lack of online access?  Plugged up information, perhaps?  And the unsubstantiated cancellation of (NY) auto insurance?  Maybe it’s time to consolidate my life, here.  A tune up is in order, so I get to work.  I spend a day going through piles of files, organizing, prioritizing, and eliminating what does not support my prosperous writing future (optimism counts, yes?).  I lay under the sink blowdrying the copper pipes until H2O gushes forth.  I turn in my NY Driver’s License and put Vacationland plates on my Toyota.

Afterwards I feel clear.  Detailed, waxed and gassed up.

I’m shifting into second gear now and already I’ve got some grip.  Income opportunities are coming my way.  I’ve taken on the role of Media Liaison at my local non-profit land trust.  I’m writing up my resume and pursuing a weekly column at a local paper.  My pulse is quickening and life is escalating, all with my hands firmly on the wheel.

Other than becoming officially a Mainer, nah, not too much going on here this week.  How ’bout you?

Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. tim rhys

     /  29 January 2011

    Congratulations on “officially” becoming a Maineiac, Kellie! It’s not so much the new plates but the successful thawing of the pipes that makes you one of us! And the GRLT position– very impressive and cool!

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  29 January 2011

      Tim~Thanks! Hopefully, any more initiation rites will be limited to sunnier temps :)

      Reply
  2. Lisa

     /  29 January 2011

    Kel, love the parallels you draw between water drain & money drain – you’ve spoken like a true little pagan! Liked this one quite a bit. Love the wavelength you’re running on!!!!!

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  29 January 2011

      Lisa~I see parallel universes everywhere ;) maybe too much – sometimes I feel like Ani DiFranco: “find great meaning in the telephone book”

      Reply
  3. Cara

     /  29 January 2011

    Shifting into a higher gear is always exciting. “Maineiac” – I like it!

    Reply
  4. Rebecca Robinson

     /  29 January 2011

    This reads so seamlessly. You’re really conveying your “well-thought” thoughts SO WELL, Kellie!
    It reminds me of learning a foreign language and putting it to use when in the country itself. I remember living in Paris, France for a few months. Struggling in the beginning with job interviews, daily interactions, etc – having to actually translate my words in my head before speaking them. I knew, by the end of three months, when I recognized what was being said to me and the appropriate response just shot of my mouth, that I understood this foreign tongue.
    I know that your thoughts aren’t a foreign language to you, but they are to anyone outside your own head, unless one has become so skilled at conveying those thoughts of the world within to the world outside with which they run parallel . Congratulations, Ms. Kellie, you’ve managed to do just that! Thanks for being a writer:)

    Reply
    • Kellie

       /  29 January 2011

      Rebecca~Funny that you mention that-so often I’ve felt misunderstood, and I review what I’ve said, and still think I’ve been clear. But the practice of writing here is making order from the chaos of my life, and I’m learning how to be more economical with my words while honing their clarity. The feedback from everyone (especially the ‘constructive’ kind – which I value) has been a great tool of improvement for me, and having a blog with such a dedicated and supportive readership is crucial to my success.
      Oh! I don’t recall knowing about your Parisienne adventures! I look forward to hearing about them someday, in person :)
      Love you! xo

      Reply
  5. Jill Rowe

     /  29 January 2011

    Seamless, full of flow- no blockages- great one! Keep it flowin’!

    Reply

Add your 2 cents!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

